TERMS OF REFERENCE AND CONSTITUTON BASINGSTOKE CANAL JOINT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

- The name of the committee shall be the Basingstoke Canal Joint Management Committee.
- 2 The objects of the Committee shall include:-
 - (a) the oversight of the completion of the restoration of the Basingstoke Canal.
 - (b) the management and maintenance of the Basingstoke Canal as an environmental, navigational and recreational asset in accordance with the policy and budgetary framework set for the Committee.
 - (c) the balancing of the interests of all users of the Basingstoke Canal and the conservation of the natural environment.
- The Committee shall be a joint committee of the constituent authorities in pursuance of Section 102(i)(b) of the Local Government Act 1972.
- 4 (i) The Committee shall comprise 16 elected members from the constituent Councils and up to 8 advisory non-voting individuals and representatives of special interest groups.
 - (ii) The elected Members shall be appointed in the following proportions:-

Hampshire County Council	4
Surrey County Council	4
Guildford Borough Council	1
Hart District Council	2
Runnymede Borough Council	1
Rushmoor Borough Council	2
Surrey Heath Borough Council	1
Woking Borough Council	1

- (iii) Each Authority shall appoint its representative or representatives according to the constitution of that authority for a period of not less than one year to run from the annual meeting of the appointing authority but each authority shall use its best endeavours to secure continuity of membership by reappointing the same representatives for the four year period between County Council elections.
- (iv) Each Authority may nominate individuals to serve as deputies to attend meetings of Joint Management Committee on behalf of and in the absence of the person for whom they are nominated to deputise.
- (v) The Joint Management Committee shall co-opt 2 representatives from the Surrey and Hampshire Canal Society and 1 from Natural England plus up to 5 other non-voting individuals and representatives of special interest groups as necessary.

Representatives and any named deputies shall normally be co-opted for periods of 4 years but shall be eligible for further periods of co-optation.

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall be elected annually from among the County Council representatives and shall not normally hold that office for a period of more

- than two-years consecutively. The Chairman and Vice Chairman shall be drawn from different County Councils and the Chair will normally alternate between the two County Councils at the end of a Chairman's term of office.
- The Standing Orders and General delegations for the summoning of and the execution of the business of the Committee shall be those operated by whichever County Council supplies the officer acting as Honorary Secretary to the Committee from time to time.
- The Financial Regulations and Personnel Codes of whichever County Council supplies the officer acting as Honorary Treasurer to the Committee from time to time shall apply in relation to the employment of staff and discharge of the role of accountant and paymaster.
- Not less than two meetings a year shall be held, of which one shall be timed to meet the budgetary cycles of the constituent authorities.
- The ownership of the Canal shall remain vested in the County Councils. Subject to any policies or directions laid down by the County Councils from time to time the Committee shall have general authority to manage the Canal and resources on behalf of the County Councils as owners of the Canal Lands. In formulating and implementing policies or decisions for the development and management of the Canal and the recreation and amenity uses of it, the Committee shall not act to the prejudice of the County Councils as landowners and any policy or decision of the Committee that may cause such prejudice or departs from the policies laid down from time to time by the County Councils shall not be implemented without first obtaining the consent of the County Councils.

Amended by the Basingstoke Canal Joint Management Committee: 8 April 2009